Origins & inspiration.

My fascination with skulls began in Nashville, TN sometime around 1999 or 2000. I was there visiting a Priestess that I admire for a Samhain observance. She wore a pendant on a long chain that caught my attention, it was a skull mounted on a quartz crystal point. When I asked her about it, Rowena spoke of the significance of the skull to the Celts. How they believed that was where the soul resides. Intrigued, I began reading about it on my own.  I read about Bran the Blessed and Taliesin. I immediately understood what it meant to have a “fire in the head”.

I have been collecting skulls ever since. Occasionally I will hear about other skull related holidays or find stories on their significance in different cultures. Sometimes it’s fun & beautiful, the Mexican Day of the Dead is one of my favorites. But sometimes it’s bizarre & a little disturbing, like the practice of artificial cranial deformation but all of it is interesting. I am especially tickled to find the image rising in popularity here in the US where the culture is so far removed from the corpse that Death is still spoken of in hushed tones & hidden behind rich polished funeral home doors. We have made an industry out of creating an illusion of dignity in Death; even for those who had none in Life.

My collecting turned to art sometime in 2007 or 2008 when I purchased a plaster mold on Ebay and it’s just kept expanding from there.

This is how passion is born.

The skull has no pretense. It tells no lies.

We all look the same underneath our skin.

I got bones beneath my skin, and mister…
There’s a skeleton in every man’s house
Beneath the dust and love and sweat that hangs on everybody
There’s a dead man trying to get out

~Adam Duritz
